Visit one of the most impressive Catholic sanctuaries in the world. In this place flock by year, 4 to 5 million of pilgrims from around the world, mostly pilgrims who moved by faith, there moving, on 13 May and 13 October or rest of the year promises to pay and ask the protection of the Virgin. In Fatima the 3 little shepherd children – Lucia, Francisco and Jacinta – claimed to have seen the Virgin Mary, for the first time May 13, 1917. Understanding Fatima is visit a Sanctuary full of peace and serenity. The Chapel of the Apparitions, where worship began, continues to have a very attractive who moves there. The pedestal with the image of Our Lady marks the exact spot of the small holm oak (missing due to the devotion of the first pilgrims who led branch to branch) mentioned in reports of apparitions to the children the 13th day of May, June, July, September and October 1917.
Built in 1919, hosted the first Mass on 13 October 1921, was rebuilt in 1992. Even today the chapel retains the character of a popular Ermida. Beyond the chapel, it is possible to visit the Chapel of the Blessed Sacrament, the monument with the concrete module of the Berlin Wall or the Basilica of the Holy Trinity (fully paid with donations of pilgrims over the years).
Ordered to be built in 1386 by King John I by way of thanks to the Virgin Mary for the victory in the Battle of Aljubarrota, the monument is considered the most significant building of the Portuguese Gothic. National Monument since 1910, is a World Heritage Site of UNESCO since 1983.
Dominican Monastery, was being built over two centuries (for 7 reigns) is therefore an interesting monument that allows us to understand the evolution of architecture, from medieval times to the early sixteenth century. Considered since 2007, one of the seven wonders of Portugal and is therefore a must see to anyone visiting central provinces. Despite solutions Gothic and Manueline at the Monastery of Batalha, also called Monastery of Santa Maria da Vitória, there are also notes of the Renaissance period, making it one of the most beautiful Portuguese and even European architectural works.
This historical Portuguese village is like an open museum, where pages of history are and were written and a medieval environment always makes you feel like time has stopped.
Óbidos was captured from the Moors by the first king of Portugal, D. Afonso Henriques, in 1148. In 1210 the kind Afonso the 2nd donated it to his wife, Queen D. Urraca and in 1281
Batalha Monastery – ordered to be built in 1386 by King John I by way of thanks to the Virgin Mary for the victory in the Battle of Aljubarrota, the monument is considered the most significant building of the Portuguese Gothic. National Monument since 1910, is a World Heritage Site of UNESCO since 1983.
it was also donated by king D.Dinis to his future wife: the Queen Santa Isabel. From then until 1883, the town of Óbidos and the surrounding land was always the property of the queens of Portugal, and maybe that is the reason why the town has maintained such a lovely, romantic and picturesque aspect all over the centuries.
Its narrow ancient streets, with white houses adorned with bougainvilleas and honeysuckle, small traditional shops and a relaxing environment, make of Óbidos one of the most lovely places in Portugal.
From the top of the Castle, one of the most beautiful medieval fortresses in the country, a beautiful panorama over the surroundings areas, blessed by nature, is provided.
Nazaré is a typical fishing town, with white houses coming down the hill into the beach, surrounded by high cliffs with beautiful sights, and it is one of the main Tourist destinations in Portugal, specially during summer time.
Nowadays it is still possible to find locals dressing the traditional fishing costumes, the men wearing flannel shirts with square motifs and black trousers, and women wearing typical colourful costumes of seven skirts, and usually performing traditional fishing tasks.
On the top of the town is situated the Sítio, with the best viewpoint (Sunerco) over nazaré that can be either accessed through a road or through the lovely Elevator with a ascending journey of about 110 meters, from the city centre into the top of the hill. In this locality it is possible to visit the Nossa Senhora da Nazaré Church, the Pilgrim Hospital, the Terreiro da Romaria and the São Miguel Arcanjo Fortress, from the 17th century, where the lighthouse is situated. Here, is located the Memória Chapel which construction was ordered by D. Fuas Roupinho in 1182, who, while stalking a deer, was about to fall down into an abyss with no possible salvation, and, scared, invoked Our Lady of Nazaré to save him. As Our Lady answered his request, he ordered the construction of this Chapel as a sign of gratitude.
An amazing beach, right in the city centre, the lovely and typical architecture all along with the handicraft products and the famous cuisine served in a great number of restaurants, mainly based in fresh sea products, quality seafood and shellfish, make of Nazaré one of the most appreciated and traditional Tourist destinations in the country.